TRT Short Sleeves

I’ve had a bad run of sewing (perhaps I’ll share in another post) and needed a success. I decided to pull out my Tabula Rasa Tee pattern and work towards having a short sleeve version in addition to the full and sleeveless versions.

 

I put on one of my TRT’s and stood in front the mirror with a ruller trying to decide how much shorter the sleeve should be. I thought about 12″.  I figure I will use this new sleeve style from time to time and it is different enough from the long sleeve to warrant a pattern which would include a hem allowance.  I folded up the full sleeve 12″ ; traced around the existing pattern and transferred all the markings. After that, just a matter of cutting and stitching my TNT TRT.

Except that the first version looked frumpy. “Oh, of course” I thought. The length I traced, created a half sleeve (elbow length).  This is not a flattering length for me and I’ve seen several designers/stylists who immediately change the half-sleeve into something else  flattering to many of us. Anyway,  I shorten the sleeve 3.5″ (1.25″ was the turned up hem); stitch, try on  again, and then I cut the sleeve off another 1.25″. The final “sleeve” is really short:

And still not typical T-shrit length.  Looking at the sleeve above, I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to develop the short-sleeve length I desire.  I have to think of this a bit.

But I count this as a success. I do have a much shorter sleeve which looks pretty good.

. OK, I’m never going to look like some movie star but I can look like a nice, pleasant little old lady

from

 

South Dakota.

2 thoughts on “TRT Short Sleeves

  1. I feel the same frustration when trying to figure out the most flattering short sleeve length. One thing I am doing with knits is to leave length at the underarm section of the sleeve hem, but bring up the hemline at the center section of the sleeve. I’m removing the fabric from that section, not just putting in a deeper hem, so my new sleeve hemline is not straight across, but gently curved. I still have length to cover my “flappy” bits, but because the center portion is shorter (about an inch) I get more of a diagonal line rather than the sleeve cutting straight across and adding visual width. Never tried it with a woven though. 😀 Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

