Craftsy Course: Adjust the Bust

This is the second Kathleen Cheetham Craftsy Course that I’ve taken.  I must like her because I decided to take this course and pay the full price. If only I’d waited, Craftsy had a flash sale practically the next day.  Ah well, I enrolled in this course specifically because of the bust fitting issue I’m having with tops.  Because of LH5213, I was particularly interested in the instructions pertaining to dartless tops.

I like Kathleen Cheetham. I repeat this is the 2nd course I’ve taken. The most I would complain about is her habit of licking a finger or thumb and then handling, pattern, fabric or tools. I know this is a personal issue. It was drilled into my head -both while growing up and during medical training-that the mouth is a hot bed of germs and is to be avoided. So I spend lots of my viewing time shuddering and telling myself not to be so irrational. After all I’m not going to be touching anything that she is touching.  Besides, her instructions are very good. Very clear. She is calm and organized. It’s a totally different experience from Sandra Betzina.

This course is all about bust darts. Where to place them. How big to make them. How to add them to dartless patterns. I was therefore a little disappointed. I did not want to add an FBA and yet that is precisely Kathleen Cheetham’s solution even for knits.

I do recommend this course. It is a very comprehensive study of the bust dart and how to apply use it for your figure.

 

But, I had to stop and ask myself did I want to do an FBA on Loes Hinse patterns?  ….

5 thoughts on “Craftsy Course: Adjust the Bust

    1. Oh I’ll be sorry if I made you notice her habit. It is a great class and she is a great teacher. Thing is when you are a “captive audience” even if by choice, you notice little things that probably shouldn’t matter. I used to have a girl friend that was a dental assistant. She said she struggled with her tendency to stare at people’s teeth. She said her habit was so bad, she couldn’t enjoy classes where people obviously lacked dental hygiene. If they just had bad teeth, she spent the class feeling sorry for them. She wished she could get over her own habit. I probably should do the same.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The year that I decided to finally work out a tee shirt pattern that fit my shape I made many different options before it occurred to me that if I wanted the body of the shirt to fit I needed to give it some significant shaping. I ended up with a shirt that has princess seams in the front (instead of a bust dart, because G cup) but now have had for many years a TNT knit top pattern that skims my curves instead of hanging off my chest like a tarp, which was how I described my former attempts. It was surprisingly difficult for me to wrap my brain around the idea of a knit top with a dart or princess seams instead of a simple one piece front pattern piece, but now I like it, because it also allows a smoother fit around the armscye as well as the body of the top

    Like

    1. Good thought Indigo. My problem with that, is that I wouldn’t really get a T-shirt. I would be sewing a princess style knit top. Which is fine when that’s what I want. I may have accept that a dartless bodice is not going to work with my body. In which case, I need to dispose of probably half my patterns. Thanks for bringing this point of view up. I do think it’s important for me to consider adapting my personal wardrobe to what works with my body.

      Like

Leave a Reply

