60565 By Popular Demand

.

 

I purchased this Cutting Line Designs pattern ages ago.  Unlike most who rave about the jacket, I was interested in the little top. It just had this air of elegance and simplicity which appeal to me.

Then there’s this other thing. Louise is a big girl.  She’s not some model thin, wisp of humanity. She has presence and looks good, really good wearing everything she designs.  When I started buying her patterns, I erroneous assumed that if the patterns look good on her, they’d be at least OK on me.

So the first time I made this pattern, I traced my size, found a beautiful linen-looking cotton and stitched it together in no time.  I mean that.  The raglan sleeve is a two-piece sleeve.  You sew the sleeve backs to the back and the sleeve fronts to the fronts then seam the sleeves together and you’re practically done.  I note that the two piece sleeve would make it easier to reshape the raglan bump if needed but that wasn’t my issue.

LC designs nice big curved facings.  These are easy to handle.  I know I’ve written it before, but I hate working with narrow fiddley facings. For heaven’s sake if the facing finishes at 1/2-5/8″, use bias bindings.  So I love the larger facings which are easy to handle and finish.  I agree with the recommendation to top stitch because that nails the facings into place and you never fiddle with them again during the life of the garment. The top stitching also adds decorative lines and an additional  slimming front line.  That wasn’t my issue.

My issue was that the finished garment looked hideous on me. I looked at myself and wondered if I’d stumbled into the hall of mirrors and was in front of the one which squashes you down and out.  Honestly, I looked shorter and fatter.  That was my problem.

I was distraught.  I asked for help on Stitcher’s Guild. I have to say that is the only request-for-help post I’ve ever made that received not a single response. Not one from the other members or from LC herself.

Since I didn’t know what to do, I discarded the traced tissue, the fabric and stuck the pattern back in the drawer. This year I needed to purge my patterns. Aas I looked at the pattern I realized I had new knowledge on

  • how to fit patterns to my shape
  • how to evaluate and adapt for proportions
  • how to cope with the raglin design line on my figure

Instead of tossing the pattern, I decided to give it one more chance. In the next few days I will be documenting my attempt to change my experience from disaster to success.  I don’t know how the story will end. I may indeed toss the envelope into the trash.

2 thoughts on “60565 By Popular Demand

Leave a Reply

