Artist in Motion Vesty

Like many others, I’m a devoted fan of Louise Cutting Designs and look forward to each new pattern release. Many of her patterns are TNT’s in my sewing and wardrobe. From the day the previews were issued, I’ve been drooling over the vesty in 62612 Artist in Motion.

I’m using a wool boucle that’s been in my stash for years.  I love the muted blue, gold and cream on navy back ground.  I knew from the moment I saw this fabric that it would become a classic that mixed easily with a large portion of my wardrobe both then and for years to come.  My problem was what pattern to use.  My fabric was 60″ wide but a scant 1-7/8 yards long.  To add to the yardage limitations was the fact that I’ve never  really cared  for the expense of dry cleaning and in my current abode, cleaners of any kind are miles away.  This make dry cleaning a long-term as well as expensive option.  On the plus side, the fabric is wonderfully soft and cushy and drapes as well as a fine silk.

The vesty pattern is incredible.  It consists of 2 major pieces (we’re talking only the vest here) plus bias strips for finishing the neckline and armscyes.  I cheated by electing to use bias tape.  I followed Louise’s instructions for interfacing and hemming.  I had selected two gorgeous button sets but then chickened out.  My fabric is so loosely woven – each stripe that you see is a single yarn woven into place-  that I feared a buttonhole would not stay in place.  I elected to use two coat snaps instead:

which you see above along with the bias binding.  I finished the bindings and hems using my cover stitch machine.  It created a flawless, smooth inner seam.

The two rows of top stitching disappear into the fabric’s weave.

I am concerned about the bias binding finish of the armscye.  When looking into the side

the bias is visible. Not so sure I like that.  It might be better to cut matching bias strips, as Louise recommended; use a lining or keep my arms down at all times.

Right from preview stage, I toyed with the idea of buttoning the sides differently.  I can easily see bring the back forward over the front

or perhaps taking the front further over the back.

Either way would be a nice change for future versions.

I do have to confess to an  unhappy moment.  Both DH and I looked at the side view and said

remember being preggars?  Yes on me the front is rising sharply much the same as during my last 6-8 weeks of pregnancy.  The back view is fine

the front, I think charming.

But I was concerned enough about the side view to try a few things, like clipping pleats into the side.

I haven’t finished.  I don’t want anyone to think my problem is a  pattern drafting issue.  I think it’s a combination of my posture and my garment top had a very slick texture which caused the vesty to slide backwards and forwards.   Since this one is finished,  I’m most likely to change the snap positions and arrange the Vesty sides just a bit differently.

Make no mistake I LOVE THE VESTY.  Just love it.  This is such a wonderful Lagenlook .  More than that, it’s a Lagenlook that I can wear easily (instead of it wearing me. KWIM?) I love wearing vests but most vests are too heavy and warm for summer wear.  This Vesty is definitely my ticket for summer wardrobe coordination.  I need to figure out how to add my inner pockets without destroying the fluid line of the garment. Also I do believe I may want a few inches more length.  Other than that, I can’t wait to make a dozen versions.

4 thoughts on “Artist in Motion Vesty

  1. Bev I think this is a very stylish and nice look, especially the photo of you smiling. The wool/linen I used is light and sheer and I used a lightweight fusible interfacing per the instructions and had no problems with the buttonholes that I stabilized, also IAW the instruction sheet. I’m sure you’ll enjoy wearing this vest.

    Like

    1. The interfacing information is good to know. Thanks for providing that. I’m also pleased with your compliment. I’m unsure about this particular version, I think I need to make it a bit longer and maybe not so wide. You get a nice sleek look, I get the short fat preggars look. It’s such a good garment, I can’t leave it at that.

      Like

  2. I have been eagerly awaiting your post about this pattern, as I have also been curious about how it would look from the “side view”… being concerned about just the aspect that you mentioned. One thing I wonder, is if for a summertime layering garment, using a very drapey fabric, like some kind of rayon, would make it more likely to hang vertically in the front, thereby giving a sleeker look? That said, I do think it looks like a lovely versatile addition to your wardrobe.

    One thing that I sometimes/often do is to use a different fabric for my bias bindings than the garment fabric, sometimes just to add an additional design element, and sometimes because the garment fabric is not suitable for making bias bindings. I am wondering if some kind of different fabric, thinner and more closely woven than the wool, would work for your vesty. I am visualising fabric in the same color family, with a slight visual texture or print…

    Like

    1. Indigo
      I think it’s a proportions issue. On TerriK, the vesty looks sleek and elegant. On the stouter me, well preggars springs to mind. I think I need to lengthen it and maybe make it not quite so wide. I’m not done. It’s too good of a design to let go just because the proportions need to be tweaked.

      Like

Leave a Reply

