LH5208

This is one of my “new” patterns.  I see a 2005 date on the envelope, so we can assume the pattern is at least 6 years old.  It is classic Loes i.e. elegant lines to be executed in fabulous fabric.  I purchased this pattern because the three other LH patterns I have are wonderful.  They are easy to sew (just carefully mark and match all dots) and always look wonderful.  I do believe that Loes drafts for my type of figure.  Hers are the one pattern which do not need a narrow shoulder adjustment in order to fit me.

 

When I first opened the package and looked at the pieces, I thought “T-shirt”.  I already have a terrific fitting T-shirt from Pamela’s Patterns.  But knowing Loes, I did not set aside the pattern and instead did a few simple comparisons to my TNT’s.  I found that the shoulder was fine. The bust and hips were fine.  The sides seemed to have no shaping but the length was fine.  Now that’s really remarkable and I knew it. This was not a typical T-shirt.  It is well fitted across the shoulders and slim fitting through the body.   This is the type of fit I truly desire.  It is close enough to reveal a figure, but does not restrict my breathing or highlight my many roll and lumps  curves.

 

I used a dark brown ITY. Yes I know I was talking about blacks and greys, but do you know how many shades of grey there are?  Not just shades either.  I have at least 7 cuts of grey in my stash each one of them seems to have a slightly different color shift.  Some shift to blue i.e. blue-grey.  Many are a brownish-grey. Very few look like the charcoal log dug out of the fire and thinned with some kind of painting/dying medium. NONE matched the greys already in my closet. Oh wait, I did find one grey that matched.  I carefully pressed it, noting the smoothness, stretch in both directions. The subtle weight and drape. Then refolded and placed back on the shelf.  I know when I have perfect legging fabric and I’m not using it for tops. My fabric buy list now contains: dark browns: blacks and greys.  To my disgust, I’ve joined the ranks of sewists who have not stashed essential basic fabrics.

 

My next choice was a delightful white and turquoise print with some black also in an ITY. I didn’t finish pressing that.  I’d already decided upon using LH5208.  Made all the preparations, all the trimming checking measuring needed to use LH5208.  While pressing the white/turquoise print I realize that it would look best in Simplicity 2221, another new pattern I’m dying to make but haven’t even taken out of the envelope.  White/turquoise gets refolded and back onto the shelf.

 

The dark brown ITY was close on the same shelf.  I do love this fabric.  My first garment in ITY was purchased at a close out in a local store. It was cheap. $2 for an Ity, 3/4 sleeve top in a lovely salmon.  I figured I’d wear it a season maybe too.  I’m really surprised that 3 years later, I’m still wearing that $2 top.  It doesn’t pill or stain. I do cycle it in and out of wear due to the weather. I’ve also purchased several other ITY cuts of fabric because of the really good experience I’ve had with the $2 top.  So I checked my closet and said, “Yeah the dark brown, winter top I have now is not going to last the winter. Besides it’s a little fussy with ruffles and lace. ”  So dark brown ITY is what I used.

 

I did stitch the front 3 tucks with a contrasting color.  I also have been admiring the many cowl neck tops and so I cut and added a cowl neck top to my own garment.

 

I’m writing and describing as much as I can because dark brown photographs just about as well as black. Meaning that you can’t tell a thing from the pics.  You just have to believe me that I cut a size large, added a neat, collar and it all looks good, fits good, feels good.   LH5208 is another winner in my book to be used for nice looking tops in lieu of the standard T-shirt.

Leave a Reply

